Backyard Cricket Pitch

W

Wilbix

Backyard Cricket Pitch

My cousins and I have been playing cricket at my cottage for the last 4-5 years. I crafted my own set of stumps out of wood bought from The Home Depot and we started one summer weekend and everyone loved it. Since then, we've drafted rules for all manner of events and we play any time we are there.

After a heavy summer of use (and a lot of rain) the pitch is in bad shape. Previously, it has just consisted of mowing out a strip short before we play, so it has been a very soft green wicket. After our Labour Day Twenty20 tournament (which I won, scoring just 5 runs (for 2 wickets) first up in the final, then c & b the opponent for 4) there are very muddy patches, and the grass is generally in bad shape.

As I am the guy who takes everything too far, I've decided this is the perfect opportunity to put in a proper pitch. We agreed to cancel the annual Thanksgiving Weekend Test in favour of having a beauty of a strip in place by next summer. So this past weekend I began the work on it. I have pictures, and will post them soon, but I forgot my digital so I have to fill up the film and get it processed. I mowed the strip, scarified it, raked out all the loose bits, and then seeded it with a 50/50 Rye/Bluegrass mix. Now I will just keep watering it and hope it makes a good start before the winter.

Anyone have any suggestions as to what I could do better? As I say, I will post the pictures and a more detailed step-by-step when I get a chance. Hopefully this will start a revolution of professional backyard pitches.

Backyard Cricket Pitch (x-post)

I'm cross-posting this from Backyard Cricket, because I'm not sure if anyone reads that anymore. I'd like to get some feedback on this.